21/03/2017 – St Peter’s 0-3 Smestow

Smestow U18 footballers grabbed their second win on the bounce in the league with a convincing 3-0 victory over St Peter’s.

It was a game mainly dominated by Smestow where most of the football was played in the opposition’s half in cold wet conditions at Wolves’ training ground. The pitch was completely different to the last match, where it was a very wide pitch which suited our lads who could get the ball down and play their football.

The first goal came from a lovely flowing move which started with Jake Hindley in the centre of the pitch beating two men before playing the ball wide to Reiss Jangra who whipped in an excellent ball across the six yard box where Declan Aubrey was there to poke the ball home.

The boys then kept it solid to the half-time break where they knew in the second half they had a bit of an advantage with the slope of the pitch. Smestow definitely took advantage of this during the second half, with the boys peppering the St Peter’s goal with shot after shot.

Eventually the much-deserved second came 15 minutes into the second half with some brilliant play on the right from Ryan Benton who beat his man and again delivered another excellent ball into the box where Kirin Modi bravely beat the keeper to the ball and smashed the ball home into the roof of the net.

Smestow were now comfortable which allowed a few changes to be made, but the flowing football never stopped. The third goal came from the same partnership which scored the winner against Highfields in the last game. Reiss Jangra again with superb play out wide, delivering a cross from the left where Luis Abbs climbed highest at the back post to head home from close range.

This was now Reiss Jangra’s fourth assist in two games and Luis Abbs’ third goal in two games. It shows how well every Year 11 student is doing to be involved in the U18 team and most certainly excelling. The boys now look to carry on their form in the two remaining weeks of the season and hopefully look to push towards the league title!

Squad list:

Nicholas Barry
Charlie Whitehurst
David Boadu
Luis Abbis
Ryan Kalirai
Reiss Jangra
Jake Hindley
Ryan Benton
Kirin Modi
Zain Iqbal
Declan Aubrey
Luke Baynham
Matt Smith
Hakeem Ali